top of page

Sonata (Scarlatti, Schubert, Scriabin) - Magnetic Resonator Piano and electronics

As a composer of the early 21st century I find the long history of music available to me both enriching and intimidating. I try to both embrace the musics of the past while at the same time keep it at bay. None more so then when composing a Piano Sonata under the stern and frozen gaze of old masters. Obviously, my sonata is not in sonata-form and the piano is extended acoustically - by means of the Magnetic Resonator Piano, and electronically - using Supercollider. But ultimately it is about the sounding of the piano and the pianist. I am grateful to Andrew McPherson for creating the Magnetic Resonator Piano and letting me play with it. I also wish to thank pianist Mark Knoop for trying some of the sketches with me, and to Elaine Chew, who premièred the piece.

Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square

© 2017 Oded Ben-Tal. Created with Wix.com

  • SoundCloud Clean
bottom of page