top of page

Notes for a Future Self

The piece was composed using deep learning tools, specifically folk-rnn and Magenta. Both are deep learning models of symbolic music, which I used in the composition process to generate material that I then transformed and adapted. This is the third piece I have composed using machine learning tools - following "Bastard Tunes" (2017) and "Between the Lines" (2018). In each piece the interaction between my own creative ideas and the machine learning system is different, but some general themes are emerging. The default output of the system is mostly useless. The initial phase involves significant amount of learning on my part of their "supposed learning". Interesting results start to appear when I learn how to subvert the model away from the training set.




Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page